5 area athletes make all-state teams

NEW Media Staff

Four area high school basketball players and one boys hockey player were named to all-state teams after standout winter seasons.

Shawano’s Michael Metcalf-Grassman made the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association Division 2 honorable mention list in his senior season.

Metcalf-Grassman led Shawano in points (20.3), rebounds (7.6) steals (1.9) and blocks (0.8) per game this season. He also averaged 3.4 assists.

Shawano freshman Leah Nordin made the Division 2 girls honorable mention list.

Nordin led the Hawks in points (20.7), rebounds (10.4), steals (4.1) and blocks (0.5) to go along with 2 assists per game.

Nordin, one of three Defensive Players of the Year in the Bay Conference, was one of just seven freshman girls to make an all-state team this winter.

Wittenberg-Birnamwood’s Reese Rogowski made the D4 honorable mention list, marking the second straight year she earned the honor.

The Central Wisconsin Conference-East Division Player of the Year averaged 19.1 points, 4.5 rebounds, 4.6 assists, 4 steals and 1.9 blocks per game.

Bonduel junior Ella Hischke joined her CWC-East counterpart Rogowski on the D4 honorable mention list.

Hischke averaged 11.4 points, 4.2 rebounds, 4.2 assists and 2.6 steals per game this winter.

On the ice, Pulaski’s Lincoln Simons made the Wisconsin Hockey Coaches Association second team for his play as the goalie of the Ashwaubenon co-op. It marked the second straight year that Simons made an all-state team.

Across 23 games, Simons stopped 525 of the 564 shots he faced for a .931 save percentage. He also posted eight shutouts and helped his team win 14 contests.

Along with the five athletes who earned all-state honors, Suring High School’s Mackenzie Bailey was named the girls recipient of the Jim Nedelcoff ‘Catalyst’ Award.

Bailey and the rest of the all-state basketball athletes will be honored during the WBCA All-State Banquet on April 2 at the Wilderness Resort in Wisconsin Dells.

A full story on Bailey earning the award will appear in an upcoming publication of the paper.