Swedberg battles through adversity on way to Late Model win

Whitman, Raab, Mullen, Wedde take other feature wins
NEW Media Staff

Johnny Whitman, Zackery Raab, Brett Swedberg, Mike Mullen and Brad Wedde all earned feature wins during Hall of Fame Night at Shawano Speedway on June 18.

Whitman won the IMCA Modified race after taking first in one of the heat races earlier in the night.

Mullen took second, while Lucas Lamberies, Brekken Kleinschmidt and Marcus Yarie rounded out the top five. Lamberies moved up eight spots from his starting position for the strong finish.

Raab claimed first in the IMCA Sport Mod feature after also taking first in a heat race earlier in the night.

Jeffery Teske moved up six spots to take second place. Kory Kemkes worked up seven spots to come in third, while Teagan Wudstrack moved past five other cars to claim fourth. Matthew Radtke rounded out the top five.

Unlike Whitman and Raab, Swedberg didn’t have a strong heat race, with his car having to be towed off. In the feature race, he worked past eight cars to come out with the win.

Kyle Raddant started in fifth and moved up three spots to finish in second place. Tim Rothe claimed third, with Luke Postl in fourth and Ron Berna in fifth.

Mullen started in seventh in the IMCA Stock Car feature race and ended up taking first to cap his strong night of racing.

Travis Van Straten finished second, while Jordan Barkholtz claimed third. Brandon Czarapata took fourth after starting in ninth, while Luke Lemmens moved up 12 spots to grab fifth.

Wedde capped the night with a feature win in the Mighty 4 Division.

Tanner Westphal claimed second, while Bailey Tate grabbed third. Carl King and Justin Haufe rounded out the top five.

Doug Blashe and Brad Rohloff were inducted into the speedway’s Hall of Fame during intermission.