Swedberg and Teske win back-to-back features

Lamberies, Nolan, Wedde win other features
Dave Buss
Special to NEW Media

Lucas Lamberies, Jeffery Teske, Brett Swedberg, Trent Nolan and Brad Wedde earned feature wins during racing action May 21 at Shawano Speedway.

The IMCA Modifieds rolled on to the track with Kevin Feck and Jerry Muenster on the front row. Feck, coming off a strong run in his heat race, and Muenster, celebrating his 81st birthday, both looked to secure their first feature win in 2022.

Jerry Wilinski looked to spoil those plans as he grabbed the lead by lap five after a caution hit the track. Wilinski looked to match his son’s win last week as he started to pull away from the rest of the competition.

While Wilinski was dominating out front, Lamberies was moving through the field from his ninth place starting spot. Lamberies wrestled the top spot from Wilinski on lap 15 and cruised to the checkered flag.

Wilinski settled in second with Feck, Muenster and Mike Schmidt rounding out the top five.

The IMCA Stock Cars saw Travis Welch and Dylan Sexton leading the field to the green light for their feature event early on. It was Welch grabbing the top spot over hard charging Tyler Wendt.

Welch led until a lap five caution slowed the field and set up a restart. Nolan took advantage of the restart and powered to the lead on lap eight, with Welch falling in line behind him and Wendt in third.

By lap 11, Kyle Frederick had moved into the second position and began to give chase to Nolan. As laps began to wind down, Travis Van Straten made his way past Frederick for second but had nothing for Nolan, who grabbed the victory.

Frederick finished in the third spot with Welch in fourth.

The Late Models were led to the green flag by Tom Naeyaert and Gunner Frank. Frank grabbed the top spot with his father Todd Frank moving into the second spot early in the feature event.

Gunner looked very strong as he continued to hold off his father while Swedberg worked his way past Naeyaert for third. Swedberg worked past Gunner Frank for the lead out of corner two only to have the caution flag fly, resetting the field to the last completed lap.

On the restart, Gunner Frank suffered a mechanical failure and had to retire from the race. Swedberg assumed the top position and cruise two his second straight feature win this year.

Todd Frank, Naeyaert and Ron Berna would round out the top four.

Matthew Radtke looked to grab a feature win from his front row starting spot in the IMCA Sport Mod Division.

A restart a quarter of the way through the feature gave Teske the break he needed as he powered to the lead by lap seven. Teske and Radtke battled it out while Tyler Sobiesczyk moved into the third spot.

A lap 16 restart following another caution allowed Sobiesczyk the opportunity to grab the runner-up spot, but he would have nothing for Teske as the No. 4 car grabbed his second straight feature win.

Sobiesczyk finished second with Radtke third and Andy Klosterman fourth.

The Mighty 4 division saw Wedde power to the front by lap four, with Alexis Michonski in the second position giving chase.

Wedde continued to hold the top spot as Calvin Stueck move to second and Tanner Westphal to third. Despite multiple efforts Stueck, he was unable to take the top spot from Wedde and the 37 car grabbed the checkered flag.

Westphal and Michonski slipped past Stueck for second and third as the feature concluded racing for the night.