Springborn wins Dirt King Late Model feature

Schmidt, Fleischman, VanStraten, Junk also winners
NEW Media Staff

Shawano’s own Troy Springborn won the 25-lap Dirt Kings Late Model Tour Kings Classic race on Aug. 26 at Shawano Speedway.

Jayden Schmidt was the top finisher in the IMCA Modified feature, while Logan Fleischman prevailed in the IMCA Sport Mod race. Travis VanStraten won another IMCA Stock Car feature and Taylor Junk placed first in the Might 4 class.

Springborn’s win in the Kings Classic was a tight one, as he edged Terry Casey by 0.045 seconds. Springborn started in sixth position.

Andy Karl took third in the race, while Bill Edler claimed fourth and Brett Swedberg fifth.

Schmidt started in second position before prevailing in the IMCA Modified race. Johnny Whitman took second, Marcus Yarie was third, Konnor Wilinski grabbed fourth and Jordan Bartz was fifth.

Fleischman began the IMCA Sport Mod race in seventh before working his way to the top. Jeffery Teske followed him to the finish line, while Tommy Rindt, Jerry Vanderloop and Andy Klosterman rounded out the top five.

VanStraten started eighth in the IMCA Stock Car feature before rolling to another win. Dylan Stedjee earned second, while Trent Nolan was third. Shawn Wagner took fourth and Travis Welch was fifth.

Junk started in second and went on to win the Mighty 4 race. Calvin Stueck, Dalton Nelson, Carl King and Brad Wedde rounded out the top five.

Shawano Speedway’s championship night is set for Sept. 2.

Heading into championship night, Whitman (IMCA Modified), Teske (IMCA Sport Mod), Gunner Frank (Late Model), Van Straten (IMCA Stock Car) and Tanner Westphal (Mighty 4) are leading the five classes.