Springborn, Schmidt enter Speedway Hall of Fame

Forstner, Schmidt, Raddant, Lamberies, Watzka win features
Dave Buss
Special to NEW Media

Hall of Fame night 2.0 saw Gary Springborn and Corny Schmidt enter the Shawano Speedway Hall of Fame.

Opening ceremonies saw Bob Maas — enshrined earlier in the year — driving his 1956 Ford with Corny and Gary carrying the American flags. Hall of famer Jon Schultz rode shotgun carrying the Underdog flag in remembrance of fellow 2020 inductee Mark Mitchell. During intermission, large groups of friends and families surrounded Gary and Corny as they were welcomed into the Hall of Fame.

Corny assumed a familiar spot at the speedway as he climbed in the flag stand one more time to flag the IMCA Stock car feature event. Dan Michonski, with Corny’s old number on his car, moved to the top spot on lap five after starting in 10th position.

Michonski showed the way while Trent Nolan provided pressure from the runner-up spot. Last week’s feature winner, Chucky Forstner, worked his way through the field behind Michonski and Nolan.

A lap 14 caution changed the dynamics as Forstner eliminated the gap he was trying to overcome. On the restart, Forstner dove to the inside of Michonski and grabbed the top spot.

Forstner cruised to another feature win. Michonski, Nolan and Travis Van Straten completed the top four.

Jayden Schmidt continued his dream season with another dominating win in the IMCA Sport Mod feature. Schmidt charged from the 10th position at the start to grab the lead in only three laps.

Tyler Sobiescyk tried his best to catch Schmidt, but came up short, finishing in the runner-up spot. Jason Jach, who has had a run of bad luck, turned his fortunes around with a third-place finish. Zachary Raab finished fourth after starting in the last starting spot.

If it were not for early season mechanical issues, Kyle Raddant might be in the Late Model championship picture. Fresh off a feature win last week, Raddant used his front-row starting spot to build an insurmountable lead over Troy Springborn.

Springborn battled with Brett Swedberg for the runner-up spot throughout the caution-free feature event. Raddant’s lead would only be shrunk down as he worked through lap traffic.

Once he found clean air, Raddant checked out to his second straight win. Springborn held off Swedberg for second, with Nick Anvelink finishing fourth.

The IMCA Modifieds provided the best race of the night, with Jerry Wilinski grabbing the top spot on lap two. Wilinski maintained the top spot, with points leader Lucas Lamberies charging through the field to grab second on lap four.

Wilinski and Lamberies traded sliders, crossovers and the lead for the better part of the feature event. Lamberies eventually solidified his points lead by picking up another feature win.

Wilinski finished second, with his son Konnor in third. Marcus Yarie rounded out the top four.

In the Mighty Four feature, Lucas Hacker looked to find victory lane again after some early season issues. Hacker paced the field with Tanner Westphal giving chase.

While Hacker and Westphal fought for the lead, Brian Watzka began to fill their rearview mirrors. Watzka used a lap nine restart to grab the top spot and drive off to the win. Hacker was second, with Westphal and Brad Wedde in the top four.