Springborn coronation highlights Shawano Speedway season opener

Wilinski, Frederick, Besaw and Pingel also victorious
Scott J. Owen
Special to NEW Media

A stout field of 119 cars signed in to kick off the 2022 racing season at Shawano Speedway on April 23.

Troy Springborn scored a Dirt Kings Tour win in the Late Model division. Konnor Wilinski, Kyle Frederick, Ryan Besaw and Austin Pingel also started their seasons in victory lane.

Springborn was crowned as “Dirt King” with his victory in the 50th feature event for the WABAM Dirt Kings Tour. Springborn charged to an early lead and held off a charge from Nick Anvelink for the win in the Spring Thaw in Memory of Larry Colburn 25-lap late model feature.

Brad Mueller, Brett Swedberg and Justin Ritchie completed the top five.

Wilinski took the win in a caution-plagued IMCA Modified feature.

Wilinski wrestled the lead from early race leader Mike Wedelstadt on lap four and would fend off the charges of Wyatt Block and Jared Siefert en route to victory.

Lucas Lamberies raced from his 17th starting sport to finish fourth. Andy Karl completed the top five.

In IMCA Stock Car action, Tyler Wendt led lap one before succumbing to Chucky Forstner.

Forstner looked strong early on before a lap 12 caution wiped out his lead. Frederick cracked the proverbial whip on lap 13 as he went from fourth to the lead. Forstner faded as Frederick held off Trent Nolan, Jeremy Christians and Travis Van Straten over the closing laps.

In the end, it was Frederick with the win, followed across the finish line by Nolan, Christians, Van Straten and Brett Wenzel.

Dylon Waldvogel jumped out to an early lead in the IMCA Sport Mod feature. As Waldvogel built his lead, Besaw and Cory Kemkes battled for second.

Besaw eventually moved ahead of Kemkes near the midpoint of the race. Once he got to second, Besaw began to steadily gain ground on Waldvogel. Besaw finally made the pass for the lead on lap 17 and would not look back.

Tyler Sobiesczyk fought his way to second in the closing laps. Kemkes held on for third. Waldvogel had to settle for fourth, while Max Oreskovich finished fifth.

The Mighty 4 feature looked like it would be a virtual cakewalk for former track champion Lucas Hacker. He grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag and quickly began to pull away from the rest of the field.

With about five laps to go though, Pingel began to close the gap on Hacker who had built up nearly a full straight away lead. On the final circuit of the race Pingel finally caught Hacker and made the pass for the win.

Hacker crossed the finish line in second with an expiring engine. Tanner Westphal, Brad Wedde and Carl King completed the top five.

Racing will continue April 30 with trophy night as last year’s champions and Rookies of the Year will be honored.

Full results and more information can be found online at www.shawanospeedway.net.