Shawano Speedway Hall of Fame welcomes 2 more

Bodendorfer, Schmidt, Swedberg, Nolan, Hacker earn feature wins
Dave Buss
Special to NEW Media

Last week it was the future in the spotlight at Shawano Speedway. This week it was the past as two new members were inducted into the speedway’s Hall of Fame.

George Giesen and Ed Bertram were honored for their past accomplishments at the speedway and in racing. With friends and family along with numerous current and former drivers who have benefited from the new hall of famers contributions to the racing world in attendance, the two were honored in a ceremony at intermission.

The IMCA Modifieds hit the track with numerous drivers who got their start in go karts at the GSR Raceway run by Bertram.

It didn’t take long until the yellow flag slowed the action with Jeff Bodendorfer leading the way. When green flew again it was Bodendorfer building a lead as Lance Arneson ran second and Konnor Wilinski third. Bodendorfer built a lead of nearly one second.

Arneson began to make his way forward and grabbed the top spot for lap 17, but Bodendorfer fought right back the next lap. As the white flag flew, Arneson made one more charge to no avail. Bodendorfer grabbed the win with Arneson second, Wilinski third and Jason Czarapata fourth.

The IMCA Stock Cars rolled trackside with a pair of veteran drivers on the front row with Hot Rod Snellenberger and Darren Otto leading the way.

Snellenberger showed he still knows his way around the half-mile as he began to get away. Trent Nolan had other plans and began to track down the Snellenberger car. Nolan got to the outside of the Snellenberger car, but he wasn’t able to make the pass.

At the halfway point, Nolan led Snellenberger, with Brandon Czarapata in the second row and last week’s feature winner Dylan Stedjee in fourth. Nolan fired to a nice lead on the restart with Czarapata moving to second.

Travis Van Straten moved to third with Snellenberger falling back to fourth. Debris caused the yellow to fly with six laps to go. Nolan maintained his advantage with five laps to go.

Czarapata moved to the high side looking for a way around Nolan but wouldn’t find the traction needed to complete the pass. As Czarapata focused on the leader, Van Straten began to work on Czarapata.

Nolan hung on for the win with Van Straten grabbing second and Czarapata third.

The Late Model division took their turn trying to tame the half-mile next and it was Rocket Ron Berna grabbing the advantage in the early going. Berna looked like he’d make it a boring race but Brett Swedberg was cutting into the advantage.

Swedberg, carrying the famous Blatz side panel in honor of Bertram, caught Berna in corners one and two and powered to the outside of Berna for the lead. A late caution gave the field one more shot at Swedberg but he powered to the win joining the likes of Schoenicke, Theilke, Peterson and Blashe with the Blatz car in victory lane.

Troy Springborn got past Berna for second with Joe Reuter fourth.

Jake Carpenter grabbed the lead from the drop of the green flag in the IMCA Sport Mod feature event and built a large advantage. Jayden Schmidt worked forward with Tyler Sobiesczyk and Matthew Radtke.

While the perennial front-runners were battling, it was Carpenter who continued to hold the top spot. Schmidt set his sights on Carpenter as he moved to second.

Caution eliminated the hard work of Carpenter and moved the field to his rear bumper. Carpenter looked like he would survive the restart, but Schmidt kept him close.

With laps winding down, Schmidt made his move and grabbed another win. Carpenter settled in second, with Sobiesczyk third and Radtke fourth.

Lucas Hacker led the Mighty 4s green to checkered to pick up another feature win.

While Hacker led every lap, Jason Stueck and Brad Wedde kept him on his toes. Stueck and Wedde pressured Hacker lap after lap but with no success. Stueck grabbed second with Wedde third.