Raddant wins Dirt King’s Late Model feature race

Forstner, Teske, Mullen and Michonski take other features
Dave Buss
Special to NEW Media

After last week’s show was rained out, the Dirt King’s Late Model touring series returned to the Shawano Speedway half-mile.

Kyle Raddant dominated the 25-lap feature to be crowned king. In other action, Chucky Forstner, Jeffery Teske, Mike Mullen and Nate Michonski found themselves victorious.

The IMCA Stock Cars opened the night with a tribute to the veterans and the USA with a four-wide salute, most cars carrying the American flag, while others carried flags of military branches and POW.

When the field took the green it was Forstner jumping to the lead with Travis Van Straten giving chase. Van Straten stayed glued to Forstner’s back bumper for the entire 20-lap feature but Forstner never slipped up and grabbed the win.

Van Straten grabbed second. Trent Nolan, Dylan Stedjee and Dan Michonski rounded out the top five.

In the IMCA Sport Mods, Zachary Raab looked like he’d have a trifecta of celebrations — his birthday, July 4 and a feature win.

Raab led a majority of the feature event, however Teske crashed the party getting by Raab in the final laps on the feature to steal the win.

Raab settled in second with Jayden Schmidt third and Mason Woods fourth.

Raddant was crowned king of the Gehm’s Club 117 Kings Classic in Mueller’s Sales & Service Victory Lane for his second DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Late Model Tour victory.

Turk Letizia and Joel Bennett led the field to the green flag of the feature.

Letizia took the lead on lap one and Bennett swapped the lead on the next lap with Raddant moving to the second spot. Raddant made the pass for the lead in turn two on lap five, pulling away from the field.

Raddant had a straightaway lead on Troy Springborn when the only caution of the night happened just before the halfway point. On the restart, Raddant held off Springborn who challenged for the lead as they raced into turn one.

Raddant pulled away from the field, leading the rest of the way to win. Springborn finished second, followed by Brett Swedberg, Ron Berna, Justin Ritchie and Nick Anvelink.

The IMCA Modifieds rolled trackside and Kevin Feck jumped to the early lead. On lap two, Feck tried to slide in front of Mullen off of turn two but did have enough momentum and collided with the Mullen machine. Feck’s night ended due to the damage sustained.

Mullen inherited the lead on the restart. Mullen cruised to victory with Jerry Wilinski second. Marcus Yarie finished third and Cody Schroeder grabbed fourth.

Nate Michonski got behind the wheel of the 17 car normally driven by Lucas Hacker and grabbed the lead on lap three of the Mighty 4’s feature event.

Michonski showed his experience and drove to a dominating win making back-to-back weeks the 17 car was in victory lane.

Tanner Westphal grabbed second with Brad Wedde and William Hoefs rounding out the top four.