Postl claims Late Model feature win

Oreskovich, Yarie, Nolan, Hacker win other features

Max Oreskovich, Marcus Yarie, Lukas Postl, Trent Nolan and Lucas Hacker won the five feature races at Shawano Speedway on Halloween night on July 15.

In the IMCA Sport Mod feature, Dustin Marquardt and Shannon Fandrey made up the front row and led the field to green. J.J. Vanderloop quickly used his fourth starting spot to get past Marquardt for the lead.

After a pair of cautions, Vanderloop continued to lead over Sean Falk, Travis Rhoades, Logan Fleischman and other hard chargers. As laps continued to tick away, the machines of Oreskovich, Jeffery Teske and Tyler Sobiesczyk were making a charge to the front.

A yellow flag flew on lap nine, which Oreskovich took advantage of and was a few car links away from leader Vanderloop. Sobiesczyk fell victim to mechanical issues and had to surrender his spot and end his night. In the closing laps, Vanderloop, Oreskovich, Teske, Fleischman and Falk were all potential winners.

As the green flag fell, Oreskovich dropped to the inside of corners three and four as Vanderloop was up high, which allowed Oreskovich to slip by and take the lead and he never looked back for his feature win.

Shawn Frelich and Jerry Muenster were on the front row of the IMCA Modified main event. Muenster jumped to the early lead using the high line around the race track, but Yarie found himself in second spot by lap three and was challenging for the lead.

On lap five, Yarie made the pass for the lead and started putting distance between him and Muenster. Meanwhile mid pack had plenty of treats as Lucas Lamberies, Jordan Bartz, Mike Schmidt and Johnny Whitman all were trying to get to the front.

On lap 11, Whitman had tricks up his sleeve as he passed two cars to put himself in second place. On lap 16, caution flew with Yarie, Whitman, Muenster, Lamberies, Feck and Bartz all in the first couple of rows.

As the green flag flew, Lamberies was able to slide into the third spot behind Whitman. The trio of Yarie, Whitman and Lamberies had a small breakaway from the rest of the field.

On lap 18, Whitman slid a tad too high in corner two, allowing Lamberies to slide underneath him for the second position. The pair battled to the checkered flag, with Lamberies winning the position. Yarie was victorious, followed by Lamberies, Whitman and Feck.

In the Late Model division, Shawn Miller sat on the front row, with Andy Karl by his side. Karl took the early lead followed by Postl, Troy Springborn and Tim Rothe. On lap six, Springborn got by Postl for second.

After a lap eight caution, Springborn chose the high side and Postl down low as Ron Berna was carving his way to the front. Springborn and Karl were side by side and as they entered turn one they both got together, resulting in a caution. Both drivers were sent to the tail of the field, which gave the lead to Postl.

Postl, Rothe and Berna had a light car break away on lap 11 when Postl began to distance himself between second and third. On lap 19, Berna was able to slip pass Rothe for second and as checkers flew it was Postl for a commanding victory.

In the IMCA Stock Car feature, Dylan Sexton, Will Hoefs, Vern Stedjee and Travis Welch made up the first two rows. Hoefs took the lead on the opening lap until lap four, when Nolan took the lead, followed by Travis VanStraten.

As those two began to break away, Dan Michonski was battling to get to third. On lap six, Michonski made the pass for third, but was still several car lengths behind the two leaders. Dylan Stedjee slipped into fourth.

On lap eight, a caution flew while Nolan was on the point, followed by VanStraten, Michonski and Vern Stedjee. As the green flag flew, Michonski made a bid for the second spot on the high side on the back stretch.

Yet another caution came out again on lap nine, bunching the field back up again. On the restart, it was take two for the front runners.

As the action up front was hot and heavy, the man on the move was Kyle Frederick. When racing resumed, Nolan, Michonski, VanStraten and the Stedjee boys were all trying to get to the lead. But in the closing laps, nobody could deny Nolan the victory.

Mighty 4 action saw Hacker return to the speedway and sit on the front row along side Joshua Slewinski.

Hacker led early, followed by Slewinski and Austin Pingel. Lap three brought out a red flag incident when Pingel had heavy contact with the outside wall. When the green fell on the restart, Hacker once again began to dominate, followed by Tanner Westphal, Brad Wedde and Nathan Lisowe.

As the laps began to wind down Westphal, Lisowe and Wedde battled for second through fourth.