Look for new faces on Shawano County Board

At least six districts will have new supervisors
Kevin Passon

Sandy Steinke’s resignation from the Shawano County Board last month brings to six the number of districts that will have a new supervisor in 2024.

While board Chairman Tom Kautza could still appoint someone to fill the unexpired term in the 5th County District, the position will still be on the April ballot with all of the other 26 districts.

Shawano County Clerk Kara Skarlupka said District 15 Supervisor Grant Staszak has already announced he won’t seek reelection in the spring. District 15 currently includes Wards 1 and 2 in Bonduel.

Based on the 2020 Census, boundary lines for the districts were redrawn and will begin to be used in the 2024 election. Each district is supposed to have a similar number of residents, so boundaries had to be adjusted to accommodate the population shifts.

This has resulted in four districts in which no current supervisor lives. It has also created four districts in which two supervisors live, meaning there would be a contested race if both seek another term.

The four districts without an incumbent in 2024 are the 8th District (Town of Wescott, Ward 4), 14th District (Bonduel, Ward 2, and Town of Hartland, Ward 1), 17th District (Town of Richmond, Wards 1 and 2, and Town of Belle Plain, Ward 1) and 22nd District (Town of Morris, Ward 2; Town of Seneca, Ward 1; Town of Grant, Ward 1; and city of Marion, Ward 4).

New districts with two incumbents now living in them are the 7th District (Jeremy Gretzinger and Michael Stupecky), 18th District (Devin Krizan and Steve Gueths), 19th District (Arlyn Tober and Dick Olson) and 23rd District (Jerry Erdmann and Steven Natzke).

Skarlupka said a quirk in state law can make the next election announcement confusing. By law, when the clerk publishes information about the election, districts and incumbents, she must use the existing boundary lines and incumbent supervisors, not the ones that will be in effect for the April election.

Residents interested in running for a spot on the board can begin to circulate nomination papers, available from the county clerk’s office, Dec. 1. All completed papers are due back in the clerk’s office by 5 p.m. Jan. 2, 2024.

The spring election, which will also be the presidential primary, will be held April 2.