Anvelink wins twice during speedway’s Mid-Summer Classic

Mullen earns 2 wins on 1st night of event
Dave Buss
Special to NEW Media

Fans were given two opportunities to watch racing action at the Shawano Speedway as the Mid-Summer Classic kicked off on July 23 and wrapped up July 24.

The Street Stocks joined the program on Friday and brought some great action to the show. Mike Mullen was the story of the night though, picking up wins in two divisions in very impressive fashion. Joining Mullen with wins was Nick Anvelink, Jayden Schmidt and Jeff Richards.

Saturday night provided just as much action, with Anvelink making it a clean sweep in the Late Model division with another top finish. Marcus Yarie, Jeffery Teske, Chucky Forstner and Lucas Hacker also found victory lane.

The IMCA Sport Mods kicked action off Saturday with what looked to be another great run by Max Oreskovich jumping to the early lead. Oreskovich led the early part of the race with Schmidt giving him a stiff challenge for the top spot. Jeff Schmuhl and Teske joined the battle up front.

As the leaders entered turn one, Oreskovich’s engine expired, taking him to the outside wall collecting Schmidt. Schmidt was able to continue after a trip to pit lane. Schmuhl also suffered mechanical issues during the caution and retired his car for the night.

Teske assumed the top spot on the restart. Teske drove off to a dominating win.

The IMCA Stock Cars took the track next, and it looked as if the race was over before it started as Travis Van Straten led the field to the green flag. Van Straten jumped to the lead early and built a lead.

Meanwhile, Forstner started in the fourth row and began to move forward and soon found himself in second, nearly a second-and-a-half behind Van Straten.

Forstner began working the high side as Van Straten stuck to the bottom. Forster caught Van Straten and made his move to the outside grabbing the top spot.

Forstner drove away from Van Straten and cruised to the win. Van Straten took the runner-up spot with Jeremy Christians third and Trent Nolan fourth.

Troy Springborn looked to dominate the Late Model feature from the front row starting spot. Springborn jumped to the advantage as Anvelink moved into the second spot.

Anvelink caught Springborn and the two engaged in a battle for the lead. Two drivers who have dominated the division for the years fought side by side for the lead, with Anvelink eventually grabbing the top spot.

As Anvelink began to get away, Ron Berna was powering forward back in the pack, grabbing the third spot. Kyle Raddant followed Berna forward grabbing fourth.

The IMCA Modifieds took off with Jerry Muenster and Yarie on the front row. Yarie wouldn’t let his top spot go to waste as he jumped out and led the 20-lap feature from green to checkers.

Meanwhile, Wyatt Block rocketed to second. Most nights Block would have dominated the race, but with Yarie checked out, he had to settle into the runner-up spot. Johnny Whitman charged from his fifth row starting spot to grab third, while Jerry Wilinski grabbed fourth. Brekken Kleinschmidt also charged up seven spots to grab a top-five spot.

The Mighty 4s concluded racing action in the Mid-Summer Classic with Hacker fighting off Tanner Westphal at the start to grab the lead.

Once out front, there was no looking back for Hacker as he grabbed another checkered flag. Westphal, Brad Wedde and Nate Michonski completed the top four.